Bathabile Dlamini takes ANC Women's League presidency

File: Social Development Minister, Bathabile Dlamini has been elected into the Presidency of the ANC Women's League.
New Minister of Social Development Bathabile Dlamini as New South African ministers and deputy ministers are sworn in at the Presidential guesthouse in Pretoria, South Africa on 1 November 2010. Photo: Getty Images

JOHANNESBURG -  Social Development Minister, Bathabile Dlamini, has been elected as the new president of the ANC Women's League.

Dlamini takes over from Basic Education Minister, Angie Motshekga.

Her second-in-command will be Sisi Ntombela who has taken the deputy presidency position. The Free State Women's League chairperson ran unopposed.

The candidates who unsuccessfully contested the top 5 positions, will automatically become National Executive Committee members.

There are at least 3,000 delegates attending the league's 12th elective congress in Irene, near Pretoria.

As the long-delayed Women's League's conference in Pretoria, drew to a close, the leadership battle between incumbent, Minister of Basic Education Angie Motshekga, and Social Development Minister Bathabile Dlamini, finally drew  to a close with Dlamini proving victorious.

Earlier, Sisi Ntombela was elected unopposed to be the Women's League Deputy President.

The Women's League has in the past few years been perceived as ineffective in promoting women's issues. It will hope that its new leadership changes the public's perception and once again becomes the key driver of issues affecting women in South Africa.

Angie Motshekga delivered her last political report as president of the league.





Discussion Policy would like to send you push notifications.
Notifications can be turned off any time in your browser settings.
You have been registered for browser notifications