Ireland send South Africa in to bat

File: The South African team included three new caps. Test batsman Temba Bavuma was due to open the batting. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG - Ireland won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat in a one-off one-day international at Willowmoore Park, Ekurhuleni, on Sunday.

Ireland were without experienced batsman Niall O'Brien, who suffered a head injury when he slipped in his hotel bathroom on Sunday morning.

The South African team included three new caps. Test batsman Temba Bavuma, who opened the the batting with Quinton de Kock, and all-rounders Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius, who are newcomers to international cricket.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock (wkt), Temba Bavuma, JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Dwaine Pretorius, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Aaron Phangiso.

Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Gary Wilson (wkt), Paul Stirling, John Anderson, Sean Terry, Kevin O'Brien, Stuart Poynter, Tim Murtagh, George Dockrell, Craig Young, Peter Chase.

Umpires: Shaun George (RSA), Joel Wilson (WIS) 

TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


Discussion Policy would like to send you push notifications.
Notifications can be turned off any time in your browser settings.
You have been registered for browser notifications