ANC replaces axed Limpopo mayors


A group of boys carries flags of the African National Congress ANC during a final mass election rally in Soweto on 4 May 2014.

JOHANNESBURG - The ANC in Limpopo has replaced recently axed mayors, it announced on Monday. 

Four ANC mayors in Limpopo were sacked last week for underperformance. The ruling party said the move was aimed at improving service delivery.
But questions were later raised about whether the decision was designed to purge allies of EFF leader Julius Malema, whose home province Limpopo is. 
The replacements are:
*Capricorn District Municipality -- Gilbert Kganyago takes over from Lawrence Mapoulo;
*Mopani District Municipality -- Nkakareng Rakgoale from Joshua Matlou; 
*Elias Motswaledi Local Municipality -- Julia Mathebe from Wendy Matemane and 
*Greater Tubatse Local Municipality -- Ralepane Mammekwa from Josias Mahlake.
The province&39;s leadership also accepted the resignation of Polokwane executive mayor Freddy Greaver, who is replaced by Thembi Nkadimeng. 

Paid Content