EU lifts travel ban on southern African countries

The CEO of the Tourism Business Council of South Africa,Tshifhiwa Tshivhengwa, has penned an open letter to the head of the EU delegation: South Africa, Riina Kionka. In the communication, he requests a meeting to discuss the need to remove travel restrictions against South Africa. He spoke about his letter with eTV's Tapfuma Makina. Courtesy of #DStv403

JOHANNESBURG - The European Union will be lifting its air travel ban on southern African countries.

The travel ban was introduced in November last year by EU member states.

READ: Mauritius lifts travel ban on southern African countries 

Travel was suspended from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

It was put in place to curb the spread of the new omicron variant which was identified in South Africa by local scientists.

Travellers from the region will still be subject to health measures.


Paid Content