Chief Justice urges future MPs to obey the Constitution

Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng received the lists of MPs and members of provincial legislatures from the IEC.

JOHANNESBURG - Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng officially received the list of members who will be joining the sixth sitting of Parliament.

The list will also include designated members of the provincial legislatures.

READ: A new look parliament

Mogoeng urged those going to Parliament to obey the Constitution.

He said the people of South Africa have elected those that they have confidence in not to betray it.

Mogoeng will then hand over the National Assembly list to the acting secretary to Parliament in preparation for the first sitting.

This comes a busy week of fierce elections and the counting process.

READ: Election 2019: Unraveling Parliamentary seating order

IEC chairperson Glen Mashinini said the commission gazzetted the final designation of representatives.

"This is the final step in translating more than 30 million votes into seats," said Mashinini.

"We can now announce the 830 individuals who will represent the people of South Africa in Parliament and legislatures. They represent the diversity of the nation."

The oldest MP will be the leader of the IFP, Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi at 90 years old. The youngest MP is 23-year-old Sibongiseni Ngcobo of the Democratic Alliance.

The IEC handed over the lists of MPs and members of provincial legislatures to Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng.