China sanctions Pompeo, Trump officials for violating 'sovereignty'

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo leaves the White House in Washington, DC.

Brendan Smialowski / AFP

WASHINGTON - China is sanctioning more than two dozen officials and members of former President Donald Trump's cabinet, including his secretary of state Mike Pompeo, for violating the country's "sovereignty", its foreign ministry said Wednesday.

"China has decided to sanction 28 persons who have seriously violated China's sovereignty," the foreign ministry said in a statement as Trump's successor President Joe Biden was inaugurated in Washington.

READ: Biden sworn in as 46th US president

Beyond Pompeo, those sanctioned include Trump trade advisor Peter Navarro, national security advisor Robert O'Brien, assistant secretary for East Asian and Pacific affairs David Stilwell, health secretary Alex Azar and UN envoy Kelly Craft.

Beijing also sanctioned former Trump national security advisor John Bolton and former advisor Stephen Bannon.


Paid Content