DA announces new parliamentary leader

Mmusi Maimane has resigned from the DA and parliament. Maimane resigned as the DA leader, along with Athol Trollip. Courtesy #DStv403

CAPE TOWN - Annelie Lotriet has been elected as interim parliamentary leader of the Democratic Alliance.

Lotriet replaces Mmusi Maimane who resigned from the party.

Lotriet, who has been the DA's caucus chairperson, will now act as the interim parliamentary leader until a caucus election takes place.

Maimane's resignation from the party means that John Steenhuisen’s tenure as chief whip automatically came to an end as the tenure of the chief whip of the National Assembly is linked to that of the parliamentary leader.

READ: DA to elect interim leaders

The party's deputy chief whip Jacques Julius has been elected to take over as interim chief whip.

"These positions will remain until such time an interim federal leader is elected at the next Federal Council. In the event that the newly elected interim federal leader is a Member of Parliament, the said person will automatically be the leader of the parliamentary caucus in terms of Section 9.3 of the party’s constitution," Lotriet said.

"Should the interim party leader not be a member of parliament, caucus will elect a parliamentary leader, who will, in turn, appoint a chief whip.

"The DA’s parliamentary caucus would like to wish Mr. Maimane well in his next chapter and thank him for his leadership and commitment to the Democratic Project."


Paid Content