Early Childhood Development centres to migrate to DoBE

JOHANNESBURG - President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced a two-year compulsory Early Childhood Development before Grade One.  

READ: SA children live in households with poor access to piped water

He says the government will also migrate early childhood education centres from the Department of Social Development to the Department of Basic Education.

Professor Mary Metcalfe from the University of Johannesburg stated that early childhood development is located in one department but maintains a  network of services that are necessary for early childhood development.

READ: Early Childhood Centre illnesses key to tracing source of listeriosis outbreak

Professor Metcalfe stated it is clear the government is trying to keep the services rooted in family services and it will take time to move.


Paid Content