Eskom implements load reduction in six provinces


File: A burning candle. Hameed Bhatti

JOHANNESBURG - Eskom has implemented load reduction in six provinces.

The localised power cuts will continue until 10pm in Gauteng, North West and the Free State.

READ: SA's electricity crisis | Eskom names and shames defaulters

Power outages are expected to last until 9pm in KwaZulu-Natal and the Eastern Cape, and until 9pm in the Northern Cape.

The power utility says it's trying to prevent network overloading in high-density areas.

It's also urging consumers to use electricity sparingly.


Paid Content