Ex-ministers headline committee chairpersons list

The ANC's parliamentary caucus has revealed who will chair various committees in the sixth administration. Among controversial members given committees are Faith Muthambi, Supra Mahumapelo and Mosebenzi Zwane. Courtesy #DStv403

CAPE TOWN – The ANC, the majority party in Parliament, has announced its chairperson candidates for various committees in the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces.

A handful of former ministers have been proposed by the ANC to head portfolio committees.

These include; Tina Joemat-Pettersson (Police), Bongani Bongo (Home Affairs), Faith Muthambi (Cogta), Joe Maswanganyi (Finance) and Mosebenzi Zwane (Transport).

READ: Sona to cost almost R2m, the lowest in years

Former deputy finance ministers Mondli Gungubele and Sifiso Buthelezi have been nominated to chair the Social Development and Appropriate Committees.

Former North West premier Supra Muhamapelo has been nominated to head the Tourism Committee.

Frolick Cedrick (Chair of Chairs), Grace Boroto (Members Interests) and Madala Ntombela (International Relations) have been respectively proposed for the positions of House Chairperson.

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts (Scopa) will be chaired by an MP from the IFP.