Jeff Radebe, Siyabonga Cwele resign as MPs

Jeff Radebe and Siyabonga Cwele have resigned as Members of Parliament.

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa's longest-serving minister has quit as a Member of Parliament.

Jeff Radebe served as a minister for 25 years.

He called the shots as Energy Minister as well as Justice and Correctional Services.

He was not included in President Cyril Ramaphosa's new cabinet.

Now, he's leaving Parliament.

Siyabonga Cwele has also resigned as an MP.

Cwele served as a minister in three portfolios, including state security.

The veteran politicians join a growing list of former ministers leaving the National Assembly.

That list includes Susan Shabangu, Nomaindia Mfeketo and Dipuo Letsastsi-Duba.