WATCH: Magashule defends ANC national list choices

Over 20 names are said to have been removed from the list, ahead of this afternoon's deadline. Courtesy #DStv403

JOHANNESBURG – The ANC says it won’t remove names of individuals from its national list to the Independent Electoral Commission based on allegations.

ANC Secretary-General Ace Magashule led the party’s delegation that handed over the national list to the IEC at its Centurion offices on Wednesday afternoon.

The governing party has had a tough time defending some of its choices.

READ: ANC National Assembly lists finalised

“What we have done is that we have looked at what the law,” Magashule said.

“You are talking about the people who have not been charged with any crime or offence. Why do you want to single out people because they are out there in the media with allegations?"

READ: Bosasa execs 'didn't read' liquidation papers before signing

The list includes people implicated in state capture, such as Nomvula Mokonyane.

There have also been numerous calls for Bathabile Dlamini and Malusi Gigaba to be excluded.

Magashule said party members who were excluded from the list are those who have convictions longer than 12 months.

The ANC top three list to the National Assembly is headed by President Cyril Ramaphosa, Deputy President David Mabuza and Mineral Resources Minister party national chairperson Gwede Mantashe. 

Minister in the Presidency Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma is listed fourth on the list.

The ANC handed over its national list to the IEC. Courtesy #DStv403


Paid Content