Coronavirus epidemic | More countries put SA on red lists

Health Minister Joe Phaahla says the United Kingdom reneged on an agreement to consult before imposing a travel ban. Other countries, including Singapore, have since followed suite. Courtesy #DStv403

JOHANNESBURG - More countries are following the UK, imposing restrictions on South African travellers.

This as concerns over the new Covid-19 Omicron variant grows.

READ: National Command Council meeting moved to Saturday

The US, Canada, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, Canada, Qatar and Egypt have banned South African travellers.

The bans also apply to Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Rwanda is also reinstating mandatory quarantine for passengers arriving from these countries.

READ: Travel restrictions unjustified - Phaahla

Other countries have indicated they will follow suit.

Government, meanwhile, says the travel restrictions on South Africa are unjustified.

The World Health Organization agrees and plans to intervene.


Paid Content