National State of Disaster extended until mid-July

Government will appeal a decision declaring lockdown level three and four regulations unconstitutional and invalid. Minister in the Presidency, Jackson Mthembu, made the announcement earlier. Courtesy #DStv403

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa will remain in a National State of Disaster until 15 July 2020, according to Minister in the Presidency, Jackson Mthembu.

Mthembu briefed the media on the outcomes of the Cabinet meeting held on Thursday.

WATCH: National State of Disaster declared

"Cabinet has approved the extension of the National State of Disaster by another month from 15 June until 15 July 2020,” said Mthembu.

President Cyril Ramaphosa officially declared a National State of Disaster in March.

The total number of confirmed positive COVID-19 cases in South Africa stands at 37,525 with 792 deaths.


Paid Content