National state of disaster extended until September

File: A shop with a "closed" sign. AFP/Tolga Akmen

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa will remain in a national state of disaster until 15 September 2020, according to a government notice released on Saturday.

READ: COVID-19 State of Disaster deadline looms 

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, has extended the national state of disaster from 15 August 2020 to 15 September 2020.

The reason for the extension was stated as, "taking into account the need to continue augmenting the existing legislation and contingency arrangements undertaken by organs of state to address the impact of the disaster".

The gazette was published hours before president Cyril Ramaphosa will address the nation on the ongoing efforts against the spread of COVID-19.

- Coronavirus Hotline Number: 0800 029 999 from 8am to 4pm, Monday to Friday

Help protect your loved ones by sharing this official South African government COVID-19 service with your family, friends and community.

Send HI to 0600 123 456 on WhatsApp.

The NICD has another Clinician Hotline to improve #COVID19 communication and support for healthcare providers. The Clinician Hotline is 0800 11 1131, operating 24 hrs. The Public Hotline is 0800 029 999 also operating 24hrs.


Paid Content