Nelson Mandela Bay elects mayor

The EFF walked out of a Nelson Mandela Bay council meeting on Thursday following a fallout with Speaker Jonathan Lawack who rejected a motion of intent aimed at ousting Mayor Athol Trollip.

File: The Democratic Alliance want NMB mayor Mongameli Bobani axed, tabling a motion of no confidence against him to be held on 2 November.

African News Agency

JOHANNESBURG - The ANC has gained control of the Nelson Mandela Bay municipality.

The council elected Eugene Johnson as mayor on Monday.

She beat the DA's Nqaba Bhanga by one vote.

READ: Historic losses for ANC mark new era in South African politics

The metro's speaker is from the Northern Alliance.

Gary van Niekerk beat the DA’s Rano Kayser, also by one vote.

The Nelson Mandela Bay council consists of 120 seats.

Only one councillor was absent when the new crop was sworn in after last Friday's council meeting didn't happen.


Paid Content