D-day for party candidate lists

The IEC says approximately 34 parties had indicated their intention of contesting the May 8th election. Courtesy #DStv403

JOHANNESBURG - Political parties have until 5pm on Wednesday to pay their deposit and submit their candidate lists to the IEC.

According to the IEC, 22 political parties had paid their deposits and 12 had submitted candidate lists.

Approximately 34 parties had indicated their intention of contesting.

READ: IEC welcomes election date

The IEC said parties contesting both national and provincial elections are required to pay a deposit of R200,000 for the national ballot and R45,000 for each provincial ballot.

Once the deadline has passed, the Electoral Commission will have until 19 March to advise parties of any non-compliance in respect of candidate lists which must be rectified by 25 March.

In December, the African National Congress released its draft of nominees for national and provincial representatives.

READ: Voter registration closed, 8 May declared public holiday

On the list were names linked to recent controversies, among them Malusi Gigaba, Bathabile Dlamini and Fikile Mbalula.

The party’s acting national spokesperson, Dakota Legoete, says some members have been removed from the list.


Paid Content