SA Lockdown: Ramaphosa announces COVID-19 'hot spots'

 President Cyril Ramaphosa addressing the nation on a further easing of the lockdown and a gradual opening of the economy.

JOHANNESBURG - President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced that the country will move from Level 4 to Level 3 from 1 June.

READ: SA will move to Level Three from 1 June: Ramaphosa

The president announced that areas that will face restrictions and receive additional support based on the number of COVID-19 infections in the area.

"We will have a differentiated approach to deal with those areas that have far higher levels of infection and transmission," he said.

Ramaphosa said coronavirus hotspots are defined as, "an area that has more than five infected people per in 100,000 people or where new infections are increasing at a very fast pace."

The hot spots were announced as: 

  • Tshwane
  • Johannesburg 
  • Ekhuruleni
  • eThekwini
  • Nelson Mandela Bay
  • Buffalo City
  • Cape Town
  • West Coast
  • Overberg
  • Cape Winelands
  • Chris Hani District
  • Ilembe District

The list of hot spots will be reviewed every two weeks, depending on the progression of the virus.

Coronavirus Hotline Number: 0800 029 999 from 8am to 4pm, Monday to Friday

Help protect your loved ones by sharing this official South African government COVID-19 service with your family, friends and community.

Send HI to 0600 123 456 on WhatsApp.

The NICD has another Clinician Hotline to improve #COVID19 communication and support for healthcare providers. The Clinician Hotline is 0800 11 1131, operating 24 hrs. The Public Hotline is 0800 029 999 also operating 24hrs.