South Africa's streamlined, female-dominated cabinet announced

President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the members of his cabinet on Wednesday evening. Courtesy of #DSTV403

PRETORIA - President Cyril Ramaphosa announced a trimmer, female-dominated cabinet on Wednesday evening.

The number of ministers was reduced by eight seats from 36 to 28 positions.

READ: Why Ramaphosa had to delay appointing South Africa's next cabinet

The president said the state reconfiguration process has been guided by the need to direct resources to where they will have the greatest impact

A number of departments were combined.

The presidency announced the following joined portfolios:

  • Trade and Industry with Economic Development
  • Higher Education and Training with Science and Technology
  • Environmental Affairs with Forestry and Fisheries
  • Agriculture with Land Reform and Rural Development
  • Mineral Resources with Energy
  • Human Settlements with Water and Sanitation
  • Sports and Recreation with Arts and Culture

The portfolios of Communications and Telecommunications and Postal Services were announced as a combined portfolio last year.

The president announced he would be signing performance agreements with the ministers and deputy ministers against targets and performance outcomes.

The following ministers and deputies were announced:

  • Deputy President: David Mabuza.
  • Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development: Thoko Didiza.
  • Deputy Ministers: Sdumo Dlamini and Mcebisi Skwatsha.
  • Minister of Basic Education: Angie Motshekga.
  • Deputy Minister is Dr Regina Mhaule.
  • Minister of Communications: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams.
  • Deputy Minister: Pinky Kekana.
  • Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.
  • Deputy Ministers: Parks Tau and Obed Bapela.
  • Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula.
  • Deputy Minister: Thabang Makwetla.
  • Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries: Barbara Creecy.
  • Deputy Minister: Maggie Sotyu.
  • Minister of Employment and Labour: Thulas Nxesi.
  • Deputy Minister: Boitumelo Moloi.
  • Minister of Finance: Tito Mboweni.            
  • Deputy Minister: Dr David Masondo.
  • Minister of Health: Dr Zwelini Mkhize.
  • Deputy Minister: Dr Joe Phaahla.
  • Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology: Dr Blade Nzimande.
  • Deputy Minister: Buti Manamela.
  • Minister of Home Affairs: Dr Aaron Motsoaledi.
  • Deputy Minister: Njabulo Nzuza.
  • Minister of Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation: Lindiwe Sisulu.
  • Deputy Ministers: Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo.
  • Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Dr Naledi Pandor.
  • Deputy Ministers: Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini.
  • Minister of Justice and Correctional Services: Ronald Lamola.
  • Deputy Ministers: John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa.
  • Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy: Gwede Mantashe.
  • Deputy Minister: Bavelile Hlongwa.
  • Minister of Police: General Bheki Cele.
  • Deputy Minister: Cassel Mathale.
  • Minister in the Presidency: Jackson Mthembu.
  • Deputy Minister in the Presidency: Thembi Siweya.
  • Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.
  • Deputy Minister: Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize.
  • Minister of Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan.
  • Deputy Minister: Phumulo Masualle.
  • Minister of Public Service and Administration: Senzo Mchunu.
  • Deputy Minister: Sindy Chikunga.
  • Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure: Patricia De Lille.
  • Deputy Minister: Noxolo Kiviet.
  • Minister of Small Business Development: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni.
  • Deputy Minister: Rosemary Capa.
  • Minister of Social Development: Lindiwe Zulu.
  • Deputy Minister: Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu.
  • Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa.
  • Deputy Minister: Nocawe Mafu.
  • Minister of State Security: Ayanda Dlodlo.
  • Deputy Minister: Zizi Kodwa.
  • Minister of Tourism: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane.
  • Deputy Minister: Fish Mahlalela.
  • Minister of Trade and Industry: Ebrahim Patel.
  • Deputy Ministers: Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina.
  • Minister of Transport: Fikile Mbalula.
  • Deputy Minister: Dikeledi Magadzi.

Paid Content