SA lockdown: International borders are open

International travel resumes on Thursday with leisure travel from high-risk countries is still prohibited. Countries that are classified high-risk if they recorded more COVID-19 cases and more deaths than SA. Diplomats, business, and sports travellers, as well as investors, will be allowed into the country regardless of where they're from. Courtesy of #DStv403

PRETORIA - South Africa will reopen its borders to all African countries from Thursday while barring tourists from around 50 nations with high coronavirus infection rates, the government said.

International Relations Minister Naledi Pandor said the country would "gradually" open borders, but that restrictions were in place for around 50 countries categorised as high risk include Britain, the US, India, Russia and France.

"Only business travellers with scarce and critical skills, diplomats, investors and professional sportspeople coming for events from the high-risk countries will be permitted into the country," she said.

READ: SA Lockdown: Strict international travel rules announced

Meanwhile, "travellers from all African countries are allowed," Pandor added.

The country will reopen some land borders and its three main airports in Cape Town, Durban and Johannesburg.

All travellers will be required to present a negative coronavirus test taken less than 72 hours prior to departure.

WATCH: Update on COVID-19 travel regulations

They will be screened upon arrival and asked to install a coronavirus tracing app on their mobile phone.

The travel restrictions will be reviewed every two weeks.

The countries with restrictions have a greater number of infections and deaths compared with South Africa, Pandor said.


Paid Content