VIDEO: The controversial faces of the new ANC NEC


Newly elected African National Congress (ANC) President and current South African deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa (R) is congratulated by Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma at the 54th ANC conference in Johannesburg on December 18.

JOHANNESBURG - The African National Congress (ANC) early Thursday announced its new  80 member national executive committee (NEC).

The composition of the NEC, which is the highest decision-making body of the party, mirrors that of the newly-elected top six leadership.

Both factions in the ANC managed to secure three members each in Monday’s vote for top officials at Nasrec.

The new NEC is equally divided between those who backed newly elected ANC president Cyril Ramaphosa and those who supported Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma for the party’s leadership position.

READ: Ramaphosa praises Zuma for leadership and sweets

Some of the controversial figures that cracked the nod include disgraced former deputy higher education minister Mduduzi Manana, Public Service and Administration Minister Faith Muthambi, ANC Women&39;s League President Bathabile Dlamini and firebrand ANC Youth League President Collen Maine.

Zuma loyalists Bongani Bongo, Fikile Mbalula and Mosebenzi Zwane also made the cut.

On the Ramaphosa side of the slate, former ministers of finance and tourism Pravin Gordhan and Derek Hanekom retained their spots.

Zuma previously sacked the pair from their respective portfolios in a late-night Cabinet reshuffle.

WATCH: Speculation rife on Zuma recall: will he stay or will he go?

Another person elected from National Treasury was Deputy Finance Minister Sfiso Buthelezi.

Members from alliance partners, the SACP, failed to make it to the NEC, with vocal leader Blade Nzimande, Thulas Nxesi and Senzeni Zokwana all getting the chop.

Staunch Zuma supporter Kebby Maphatsoe also didn&39;t feature.

Paid Content