ANCYL names its ideal top six


ANCYL secretary general Njabulo Nzuza are seen during the league's congress held in Midrand on 05 September 2015. He was elected unopposed.

JOHANNESBURG - The ANC Youth League (ANCYL) on Tuesday announced its preferred top six candidates for the party's elective conference in December, following its extended executive NEC meeting at the weekend.

READ: 'Watch this space'- Ramaphosa on ANC succession race

The party's youth wing will back Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma for president, instead of Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa.

It called for the creation of a new position of ANC deputy secretary general for organising and campaigns, and said Police Minister Fikile Mbalula was the right candidate for it.

ANCYL secretary-general Njabulo Nzuza said, reading a statement at Luthuli House.“Comrade Nkosazana-Dlamini Zuma is the president of the ANC, Didi Mabuza is the deputy president of the ANC, Ace Magashule is the secretary-general of the ANC. These will be the names that the ANCYL goes around the country and interacts with the structures of the organisation [about] and advances to be elected as leaders of the ANC,” 

Completing the list, Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa is touted for the position of national chairperson, with Free State premier Ace Magashule as secretary-general and International Relations Minister Maite Nkoane-Mashabane as treasurer-general. They league wants Jesse Duarte to remain as deputy secretary-general for monitoring and evaluation.

READ: ANCYL reacts to Mthembu's call for NEC to resign

Nzuza said the next ANC leadership must be full of young people and have two deputy secretaries-general.

ANCYL president Collen Maine  said: "There is nothing special about Cyril Ramaphosa, we respect him but we want Mama Nkosazana."