Cabinet reshuffle: Meet SA's new ministers



JOHANNESBURG - There have been 20 changes to cabinet.

Some ministers have been axed, while others have moved to new portfolios.

Let's take a look at some of the changes.

Finance Minister: Malusi Gigaba

Gigaba served as Home Affairs Minister since May 2014.

He previously held the post of Public Enterprises Minister in 2010.

Gigaba is considered a close ally of President Zuma.

Last year, Gigaba lashed out at ANC stalwarts calling for the President to step down.

He branded struggle veterans Ahmed Kathrada and former Finance Minister Trevor Manuel as disillusioned former ANC leaders who lack discipline.

Police Minister: Fikile Mbalula

Mbalula served as Sports Minister since May 2014.

He was appointed deputy minister of police in May 2009.

Mbalula is no stranger to Twitter, regularly engaging in 'twars' with MP's an Olympian Sunette Viljoen.

Public Works: Nathi Nhleko

Nhleko served as the Minister of Police.

He previously served chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration, chairperson of the ANC caucus, African National Congress chief whip, and member of the Judicial Service Commission.

Nhleko faced criticism for the suspension of Robert McBride in March which was ruled by the Constitutional Court to be unlawful.

Sports and Recreation: Thulas Nxesi

Nxesi served as the Minister of Public Works and previously served as Deputy Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform.

He assumed responsiblity of the portfolio in October 2014, following an investigation into the conduct of former Public Works Minister, Geoff Doidge and his then deputy minister, Hendrietta Bogopane-Zulu.

Nxesi was denied a visa by Israel in 2012.

Public Service and Administration: Faith Muthambi


Muthambi served as Communications Minister.

She was one of the seven ANC MPs nominated for the ad hoc committee to consider President Jacob Zuma’s submissions on former Public Protector Thuli Madonsela’s report on his Nkandla home.

Opposition party MPs called for Muthambi be axed.

The proposals came as members of the ad hoc committee continued deliberations on the SABC inquiry.

The SABC is fully owned by the government, with Muthambi acting as its shareholder representative.

Tourism: Tokozile Xasa

Xasa served as Deputy Minister of Tourism.

She was the first female mayor of a district municipality in the transitional period of local government in the Eastern Cape.

Home Affairs: Hlengiwe Mkhize

Mkhize served as Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services from 2014.

She is a founder member and a trustee of the Children and Violence Trust since 1995 and she has been a trustee of the Malibongwe Business Trust from 2005.

Energy Minister: Mmamoloko Kubayi

Kubayi served as a Regional Executive Member of the ANCYL in the Greater Johannesburg region.

She subsequently became a Deputy Provincial Secretary of the ANCYL in Gauteng province.

Kubayi previously held the position as Chairperson of the Telecommunications and Postal Services committee.

Transport Minister: Joe Maswanganyi

Maswanganyi is a member of Parliament and former MEC of Sports, Arts and Culture in Limpopo.

Communications: Ayanda Dlodlo

Dlodlo served as the Deputy Minister for the Public Service and Administration .

She is a member of the ANC National Executive Committee and a Member of Parliament.

Dlodlo served an Adviser to President Zuma from 2009 to 2010.

Paid Content