Eskom appoints new board


Headquarters of Eskom, Megawatt park, north of Johannesburg. eNCA

JOHANNESBURG - The new Eskom board has been announced.

Current Telkom chair Jabu Mabuza has been named the new chairperson of the power utility.

The decision was taken after a meeting between President Jacob Zuma, his deputy Cyril Ramaphosa, and Public Enterprises Minister Lynne Brown.

WATCH: State Capture inquiry turns focus on Eskom

The trio says the move will strengthen governance at the embattled parastal.

It&39;s also appointed Phakamani Hadebe as acting group Chief Executive.

The board has been ordered to immediately remove all Eskom executives who are facing allegations of corruption including Mr Matshela Koko and Mr Anoj Singh.

Concerns were raised earlier this week that Eskom would not be able to meet its debt commitments.

The Finance Minister has said continued bad governance at Eskom would destroy the country&39;s economy.

Here&39;s the list of new members:

1. Chairperson Mr Jabu Mabuza

2. Mr Sifiso Dabengwa 

3. Ms Sindi Mabaso-Koyana

4. Mr Mark Lamberti

5. Prof Tshepo Mongalo

6. Prof Malegapuru Makgoba

7. Ms Busisiwe Mavuso

8. Ms Nelisiwe Magubane

9. Dr Rod Crompton

10. Mr George Sebulela

11. Dr Pulane Molokwane

12. Dr Banothile Makhubela

13.  Ms Jacky Molisane


Paid Content