EXPLAINER: DA to elect 'new' leadership


The DA is holding it's Federal Congress this weekend with voting taking place on Sunday.

JOHANNESBURG - The Democratic Alliance (DA) is to elect "new" leaders this weekend, although the two key position in the party, that of leader and chairperson of the federal council are unopposed. 

The DA is holding its federal congress in Tshwane, with voting taking place on Sunday. 

READ: Stage set for ‘most important congress in DA’s history’


A constitutional amendment will be voted on to extend the term of the party&39;s leader. 

DA chief whip John Steenhuisen spoke out on the issue on Saturday. 

WATCH: DA chief whip explains stance on leadership term




There is controversy over the position of federal chairperson .of the party.

Up for re-election is Athol Trollip, current mayor of the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro, who is under siege from the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF). 

READ: Bickering in the Bay: Trollip survives to rule NMB another day

He is facing off against MP Annelie Lotriet, the DA&39;s provincial chairperson in the Free State, and Solly Msimanga, mayor of the Tshwane. Msimanga , who is being backed by the black caucus within the party.


On Friday, the DA elected its youth and women  leadership. 

The DA Women&39;s Network elected Dr Nomafrench Mbombo as its federal leader and Safiyia Stanfley as the deput.

The DA Youth elected Luyolo Mphithi as Leader, while Zahid Badroodien was elected as federal youth chairperson.


The full list of positions being contested at the congress is as follows: 


Federal finance chairperson:

George, Dion Travers

Lees, Robert Alfred


Deputy chairperson of the federal council:

Hoosen, Mohammed Haniff

Mazzone, Natasha Wendy Anita

Ramulifho, Nkhumeni

Walters, Thomas Charles Ravenscroft


Deputy federal chairpersons:

Mabula, Rollence Molamu

Mafanedza, Ndwakhulu Greaterman

Meyer, Ivan Henry

Molapo, Nkele

Nt’sekhe, Refiloe

Thwala, Dumisani Sibusiso

Van Der Walt, Desiree

Waters, Michael


Federal chairperson:

Lotriet, Annelie

Msimanga, Solly Tshepiso

Trollip, Roland Athol Price


Paid Content