IEC releases Metsimaholo by-election results


The IEC is tallying its numbers after the first voter registration weekend ahead of this years local government elections. It was hoping to add a million new names to the voters roll.

JOHANNESBURG – The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) has finally released the results of the Metsimaholo by-elections after major delays in the Free State.

The ANC has won 16 seats, compared to the 19 it won in the 2016 Municipal Elections.



The Democratic Alliance won 11 seats – that’s one less than last year.

WATCH: ‘It’s too late for us, we failed,’ Zuma says

The EFF retained its eight seats.

And the SACP won three seats, after choosing to contest by-elections without its alliance partner. 

The Metsimaholo by-elections have been marred by allegations of vote-rigging.

Paid Content