Joburg mayor announces 'diverse' team


The newly appointed Johannesburg MMCs, announced by Johannesburg Executive Mayor Herman Mashaba on Friday 26 August 2016.

JOHANNESBURG - Herman Mashaba was sworn in as Johannesburg Executive Mayor on Friday and named his team of "diverse" people who will help move the city forward.

The mayoral committee includes: MMC Finance Dr. Rabelani Dagada; MMC Economic Development Sharon Peetz; MMC Development Planning Richard Funzela Ngobeni; MMC Environment and Infrastructure Services Anthony William Still; MMC Housing Mzobanzi Ntuli and MMC Transport Nonhlanhla Helen Makhuba.

Mashaba said he was confident that every resident of Johannesburg would be able to identify and connect with the Members of the Mayoral Committee (MMC).

"As you take up your positions, I want to remind you, leadership is not about the trappings of power or how others must serve you," he said.

Top of Mashaba&39;s list of priorities, as outlined during his campaigning and on the night of his election, are putting an end to corruption, delivering better services and providing jobs. 

"We were clear in our campaign. The people of Joburg deserve a clean, efficient and responsive administration," he said.


Paid Content