Maimane nominated DA parly leader unopposed


DA Federal Chair Mmusi Maimane speaks at Mary Fitzgerald Square in Newtown, Johannesburg, on 15 June 2013. DA held its election campaign for Gauteng at the square. Picture: Lenyaro Sello/eNCA.

JOHANNESBURG - Mmusi Maimane has been nominated unopposed for the DA parliamentary leader position, the Democratic Alliance said on Monday.

"The nominations for the DA parliamentary caucus elections are now closed," the party&39;s federal executive chairman James Selfe said in a statement.

Maimane is set to take over from Lindiwe Mazibuko who resigned as parliamentary leader after the May 7 general elections. She is set to travel to study in the United States.

Maimane campaigned for the Gauteng premiership during the election campaign.

Anchen Dreyer and Richard Majola were also nominated unopposed for chair of parliamentary caucus and deputy chair of parliamentary caucus respectively.

Sandy Kaylan and Michael Waters were nominated for the deputy chief whip position.

Elsa van Lingen was the only nominee for the party&39;s National Council Of Provinces (NCOP) leader.

The election of the deputy chief whip and the National Assembly whips would take place on Thursday, Selfe said.

Look here for a full profile on Maimane. 

Paid Content