SABC interim board members named


Motsoeneng said the SA Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) went on a public drive in August 2012, and viewers felt the television news broadcasts were too short.

CAPE TOWN -  Parliament's communication committee named five interim SABC board members on Wednesday, during an urgent meeting.

Thy are veteran journalist and former editor Mathatha Tsedu, former ANC member of parliament Febe Potgieter-Gqubule, human rights lawyer Krish Naidoo, journalist and author John Mattison and former CEO of Business Unity SA Khanyisile Kwayema.

WATCH: Parliament adopts SABC board report

The interim board,which still has to be approved by the National Assembly, will be valid for six months.

On Tuesday, all parties except for the UDM adopted the ad hoc committee's report, 

The UDM had raised raised an objection because executive Hlaudi Motsoeneng was not given an opportunity to make submissions before the committee.

The report recommends criminal charges against witnesses who misled Parliament or gave false evidence.

It also calls for Communications Minister Faith Muthambi to appear before the Ethics Committee.

Paid Content