Birkett, Lance win 2016 Dusi Canoe Marathon

Andy Birkett during the 2015 Dusi Canoe Marathon at the Durban on the 20th of February 2015. Photo: Sabelo Mngoma/BackpagePix

DURBAN – Andy Birkett and Lance Kime claimed the 2016 Dusi Canoe Marathon title after leading from start to finish.

It was an equally convincing performance from women's race winners Abby Solms and Czech national Anna Koviskova.

With a seven-minute overnight lead Birkett and Kime left little to chance as they kept up the relentless pace they set from stage one of the Dusi Canoe Marathon.


The Pietermaritzburg pair finished an emphatic nine minutes ahead of the World Marathon champion crew of Hank McGregor and Jasper Mocke.

Solms and her World Marathon champion partner Koviskova blew the women's field apart, winning all three stages.

The focus for these paddlers now switches to the Non-Stop Dusi which takes place in two weeks’ time. It is an intense 120km single stage race from Pietermaritzburg to Durban.





Discussion Policy would like to send you push notifications.
Notifications can be turned off any time in your browser settings.
You have been registered for browser notifications