PGA Tour suspends LIV Golf series participants

The LIV Golf Series' inaugural event begins this week, despite the continued outcry from loyal PGA players. Louis Oosthuizen is one of eight South African golfers confirmed for the event starting in London on Thursday. Sunshine Tour commissioner Thomas Abt discussed this with eNCA's Nandi Tshabalala. Courtesy of #DStv403

JOHANNESBURG - The PGA Tour has suspended 17 players who are taking part in the Saudi-backed Series.

Just 30 minutes after the opening tee of the first LIV Golf Series, the PGA Tour released a letter to its members, saying the players did not receive releases or did not apply for them at all to participate.

READ: McIlroy, Thomas back PGA Tour ban of LIV Golf rebels

Phil Mickelson, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Ian Poulter and Lee Westwood are among the players suspended from competing on the PGA Tour.

Louis Oosthuizen is among eight South African golfers who are no longer eligible to compete in PGA Tour events.

Meanwhile, the DP World Tour is yet to comment on the matter.


Paid Content