WATCH: SAFA announces Bafana Afcon squad

• Editor's note: This live event has ended. You may watch a recording above.

 JOHANNESBURG - The South African Football Association (SAFA) announced the Bafana Bafana Afcon squad ahead of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).

The tournament will take centre stage in Egypt from 21 June to 13 July as 24 teams are set to contest for Africa's biggest international honour.

READ: Afcon ticket prices reduced after local fans backlash

Head coach Stuart Baxter is expected to name a young, vibrant team fused with a wealth of experience in Bafana's bid to conquer Africa and reaching unparalleled feats on the international stage.

Skipper Thulani Hlatshwayo is expected to lead the team in Egypt whilst immensely gifted players such as Percy Tau, Themba Zwane and Thembinkosi Lorch will undoubtedly be expected to make the squad.

READ:EXPLAINER: How Afcon 2019's new format works

However, doubts linger surrounding the fitness of long-serving goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune as he continues nursing a shoulder injury sustained earlier in January this year.

Bafana have been drawn in Group D alongside Morroco, Côte d'Ivoire and Namibia as they bid to advance through to the knockout phase despite being drawn in a group dubbed "The group of death" considering the calibre of opponents they'll square off against.