SA's Impey wins first back-to-back Tour Down Under title

Overall race winner South African rider Daryl Impey from the Mitchelton-Scott team celebrates after stage six of the Tour Down Under cycling race in Adelaide on January 20, 2019. 


AUSTRALIA - South Africa's Daryl Impey hung on to become the first cyclist to win back-to-back titles at Australia's Tour Down Under outside of Adelaide on Sunday.

Mitchelton-Scott's Impey won last year's UCI season-opening event on countback and held on to take this year's general classification behind sixth-stage winner Richie Porte of Australia up the torturous final Willunga Hill.

READ: SA's Impey takes control in Tour Down Under

Impey, with a time of 20 hours 30 minutes 42 seconds, beat Porte by 13 seconds for the race with Dutchman Wouter Poels of Sky Team a further six seconds away in third place overall.

No one has won consecutive titles in the 20 years of the Tour Down Under.

It was Porte's sixth consecutive victory up the notorious Willunga Hill stage.