DStv Channel 403 Sunday, 21 April 2024

Costelow returns for Wales Six Nations clash against Ireland

Fly-half Sam Costelow has been recalled to the Wales starting line-up for Saturday's Six Nations clash against Grand-Slam chasing Ireland in Dublin.

The Scarlets number 10 started in the opening match, a 27-26 defeat against Scotland, but was forced off in the first half with a neck injury.

He was replaced by Ioan Lloyd, who started at fly-half in the 16-14 Twickenham loss against England, but Costelow now returns as a solitary starting change from that game.

There are further starts for squad newcomers Cameron Winnett and Alex Mann, while centre George North wins his 120th cap -- only the third Wales player to reach that mark after Alun Wyn Jones and Gethin Jenkins.

Uncapped Cardiff back-row forward Mackenzie Martin features on the replacements' bench.

The 20-year-old is in his first full season of professional rugby and has made just nine Cardiff appearances.

Lloyd drops to the bench and Harlequins prop Dillon Lewis is also among the replacements in further changes from the match at Twickenham.

Wales, who have not won a Six Nations encounter in Dublin since 2012, face a tough task against opponents fresh from posting bonus-point victories over France and Italy in pursuit of back-to-back Six Nations Grand Slam titles.

"We are excited to go out to Dublin and test ourselves against one of the leading sides in world rugby," said Wales coach Warren Gatland. "It's a challenge we are relishing.

"We've made steps in the last couple of games and now it's about building on that, learning from those experiences and taking that into this weekend.

"It's about continuing to work hard, looking for accuracy in our performance across 80 minutes and also keeping our discipline."


Wales team to face Ireland in the Six Nations at Dublin's Aviva Stadium on Saturday (1415 GMT):


Cameron Winnett; Josh Adams, George North, Nick Tompkins, Rio Dyer; Sam Costelow, Tomos Williams; Aaron Wainwright, Tommy Reffell, Alex Mann; Adam Beard, Dafydd Jenkins (capt); Keiron Assiratti, Elliot Dee, Gareth Thomas

Replacements: Ryan Elias, Corey Domachowski, Dillon Lewis, Will Rowlands, Mackenzie Martin, Kieran Hardy, Ioan Lloyd, Mason Grady

Coach: Warren Gatland (NZL)


Paid Content